中国面临的能源和环境挑战

在过去三十年中,中国经济的飞速发展让数亿人得以脱贫,生活水平大幅提高,其成就在经济史上前所未有。能源消耗的快速扩张驱动了经济的飞速增长,使中国一跃成为世界上最重要的经济强国之一。但是,这也产生了严重的环境问题。一些城市的空气污染非常严重,可能导致严重的健康问题,甚至缩短居民寿命。同时,中国还是世界上最大的二氧化碳排放国,对减缓气候变化的全球行动非常关键。

为了应对这些挑战,中国的决策者正在实施一项宏伟的计划。自2013年以来,中国的污染防治攻坚战取得了重大进展,主要城市的细颗粒物污染水平下降了20-40%。中国政府还将再接再厉,在不牺牲经济增长的同时,让空气、水和土壤更加洁净。在这种情况下,最重要的就是要制定最具成本效益和最富有效率的政策。

研究方法

芝加哥大学能源与环境政策研究所(EPIC)探索出一个成 功模式以应对世界上最艰巨的能源和环境挑战。该模式的 核心是:与中央和地方政府紧密合作,共同产生以数据驱动为基础,并经受过检验的政策成果。我们的流程能确保提出正确的问题,提供解决方案,并经过实地检验和严格测量,然后扩大应用,成为富有成效的政策。在全球范围内,EPIC致力于同受污染问题困扰的多个国家和地区的政府(包括中国)开展合作。

“芝加哥大学能源与环境政策研究所中国中心将芝加哥大学成熟的研究成果和现有合作关系提升到了一个新的水平。我们的目标是与中国合作伙伴一起,进行开创性研究,既保证价格低廉且可靠的能源供应,也同时实现中国污染防治的宏伟目标。我们的研究工作不仅可以为中国带来持久益处,也有助于世界其他地区发展。”

芝加哥大学能源与环境研究所所长 迈克尔·格林斯通

芝加哥大学能源与环境政策研究所所长迈克尔·格林斯通与中国科学院大学校长代表胡中波签订合作谅解备忘录。

开创性的合作关系

作为EPIC中国研究的一部分,芝加哥大学和中国科学院大学建立了开创性的合作关系,在能源和环境方面开展广泛研究。双方建立的能源和环境政策联合研究中心旨在洞察中国紧迫的能源和环境挑战,为中国的决策者提供新工具以解决重大优先问题,例如以最高效的成本减少环境污染。

 

 

“我们的合作关系将中国科学院大学一流的工程实力与芝加哥大学领先全球的经济学分析相结合。我相信,这一强强联合能够孕育出独有的创新和解决方案。”

中国科学院大学校长 李树深

芝加哥大学经济学的实力

芝加哥大学经济学具有深厚的历史传承,擅长通过揭示市场力量和洞悉经济奥秘解决一些最严峻的社会挑战。通过严谨的数据分析和大胆探索之前被经济学视为陌途的研究领域,芝加哥大学的经济学家们在一系列研究领域取得了重大进展,包括减贫、教育、以及现在关注的能源和环境等领域。芝加哥大学有30位学者获得了诺贝尔经济学奖。还有18位获得了约翰·贝茨·克拉克奖章,这专门颁发给对经济学做出重大贡献的年轻经济学家。

贝克尔-弗里德曼经济研究所作为整个芝加哥大学经济学届的前沿分析和研究中心,将布斯商学院、肯尼斯·C·格里芬经济系、哈里斯公共政策学院和法学院的研究学者联合起来,通过前所未有的努力来揭示经济学的新思维方式。作为广阔的芝加哥大学经济学界的一部分,EPIC是贝克尔-弗里德曼经济研究所的分支机构。

通过与中国的研究者和研究机构共同努力,EPIC-China希望能为当前中国决策者面临的关键经济问题提出创新的见解。

China’s Energy & Environment Challenge

Over the past three decades, China’s remarkable economic growth has raised hundreds of millions of people out of poverty and improved living standards on a scale unrivaled in economic history. This rapid expansion in energy and the dramatic growth it has fueled has transformed the country into one of the world’s most important economic powers. It has also, however, had profound environmental consequences. Chinese citizens breathe some of the world’s most polluted air, leading to serious health problems and shortened lives. China has also become the world’s largest emitter of carbon dioxide, making it critical to global efforts to mitigate climate change.

Chinese policymakers have begun implementing an ambitious agenda to address these challenges. Since 2013, China has made incredible progress in its “war on pollution,” with particulate pollution levels dropping by 20 to 40 percent in major cities. Yet, as policymakers continue to work toward additional improvements that produce cleaner air, water, and soil without sacrificing economic growth, it will be crucial to identify the most cost effective and efficient policies available.

EPIC-China’s Approach

EPIC has developed a successful model for addressing the world’s most difficult energy and environmental challenges. At its core, the EPIC model focuses on producing data driven, tested research insights in partnership with local, regional, and national governments. Our process helps ensure that the right questions are being asked, solutions are tested on the ground and rigorously measured, and results can be scaled up into successful policies. EPIC is committed to working with governments in the regions and countries of the world that are at the center of these critical issues, including in China.

“EPIC-China takes the established research and existing partnerships of UChicago faculty to the next level. Alongside our Chinese partners, our aim is to conduct ground-breaking research on how to ensure access to inexpensive and reliable energy while meeting China’s ambitious pollution-reduction goals. This work could bring long-lasting benefits not just to China, but also to the rest of the world.”

Michael Greenstone, Director, EPIC

EPIC Director Michael Greenstone and Professor Zhongbo Hu, on behalf of UCAS President Shushen LI, sign memorandum of understanding to collaborate.

Groundbreaking Partnership

As a part of EPIC’s work in China, the University of Chicago and the University of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (UCAS) have formed a groundbreaking collaboration that will support a wide range of research focused on energy and environmental issues and policies. The Joint Center for Energy Policy Research in China aims to generate fresh insights into pressing energy and environmental challenges, offering Chinese policymakers new tools to tackle important priorities, such as cost-effective reductions in environmental pollution.

“Our relationship combines the prominent engineering expertise of UCAS with the University of Chicago’s global leadership in economic analysis. Working together, I believe these two perspectives have the ability to produce new ideas and solutions that might not exist otherwise.”

Shushen LI, UCAS President

The Power of Chicago Economics

The University of Chicago School of Economics has a rich legacy of demonstrating the power of markets and economic insights to solve some of society’s greatest challenges. Through rigorous data-driven analysis and a willingness to venture into areas not previously considered part of the field, University of Chicago economists have produced major advances on a range of issues, including poverty, education, and now, energy and the environment. Thirty scholars associated with the School have been awarded the Nobel Prize in Economics, and eighteen have received the John Bates Clark Medals, awarded to young economists who have made the most important contributions to the field.

The Becker Friedman Institute for Economics (BFI) serves as a hub for cutting-edge analysis and research across the entire University of Chicago economics community, uniting researchers from the Booth School of Business, the Kenneth C. Griffin Department of Economics, the Harris School of Public Policy, and the Law School in an unparalleled effort to uncover new ways of thinking about economics. As part of the broader Chicago Economics community, EPIC is an affiliated center of BFI. Working in close partnership with Chinese researchers and research institutions, BFI-China aims to develop new insights on the critical economic issues facing Chinese policymakers today.

Learn More